What is the first thing I’ll ask God when I get to Heaven?

postWe all have questions that we want answered. Sometimes, we can find the answers through books, in other times through people, and yet in some other times, through our own observations.

A few days ago, I came across this question in my readings — “What is the first thing I’ll ask God when I get to Heaven?”. The question is neither new nor novel, and I am sure it has been around for ages.

There are so many questions that sometimes even believers would want to ask God when they get to Heaven. Why are there so many hardships in this world? Why do bad things happen to good people? Why does God remain silent on some prayers and answers others? The list goes on.

A few years ago, God took me on a faith journey that put an end to a burning question that I had. An unanswered prayer had left me wondering if God would ever come to my aid. When I finally realised that I still needed God as He was my only true hope and that I couldn’t make it through life without Him, I told myself (and others as well) that when I get to Heaven, I will ask God why He didn’t answer my prayer. Notice my weird logic — I gave in and decided to cling to Him only so that I would somehow be able to get to Heaven!

However, God was really kind to me. Over time, slowly, but surely, my daily morning routine started to change. I began to spend my time with Him in the morning, reading the Scripture, meditating on His word, and praying. My prayers started to feel different — I sensed that I was praying to an Almighty God who was right there with me, hearing my prayers and tenderly listening to me. No longer was God far away and inaccessible. Unlike in the past, I no longer wanted to go to Him only when I needed Him. God began to be an integral part of my life. I started going to Him whether or not I urgently needed His help. I started to fellowship with Him and to rely on Him on every aspect of my life. Today, I don’t just need God during difficult times, but all the time, anytime.

In the book of Ecclesiastes, it is written that there is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens (Ecclesiastes 3:1). 

In verse 11 of Chapter 3 of this book, we read that God has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

Although there are times when our problems seem insurmountable, rest assured that God has a broader plan in mind, spanning eternity. If we look at ourselves from this perspective, and know that God is in control, we save ourselves a lot of agony, and questions.

That doesn’t mean that the pain and suffering isn’t real. However, note what Jesus said in John 16:33: “…In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

So, what is the first thing I’ll ask God when I get to Heaven? I know that I will not ask him about that unanswered prayer — that which I wanted so badly to be fulfilled. He is in charge. He knows what’s best for me. I have realised that indeed “no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end”. Maybe we will never know the answers to some of our burning questions. Maybe we don’t need to know. Maybe we just need to trust in Him a bit more.

However, the first thing that I will want to ask God when I get to Heaven is somewhat similar to what David had asked:

Psalm 27:4 (NIV):
“One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.”

How lovely would it be if I (and you too) could dwell in the house of the Lord for eternity!

Leave a Reply

