Why I love to pray

Each day, I have an appointment with God. With my mind still half awake, somewhere between “slumber land” and the “real world”, I shake off my sleep by directing my first thoughts of the day toward God. It can be as simple as giving thanks to God for a beautiful day, or just greeting God with a hearty “Good morning!”. Or just thinking about Him and relying on His strength to get me through the day.

Then, I get the coffee ready and move on to my favourite part of the day — my quiet time with God. This is the time I spend reading the Scripture, meditating on His word, and praying.

It has been said that prayer is the way we communicate with God. For me, prayer is more than that — it is having conversations with Him throughout the day. It goes beyond praying in the morning during my quiet time. It is about submitting all my concerns, all my decisions, and everything that’s taking place in my life in the course of the day into His hands.

In the book of Ephesians, it is written that we are to “pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” (Ephesians 6:18 (NIV))

Notice that Paul mentioned “all occasions”, “all kinds of prayers and requests”, and “always”.

One of my favourite verses is in the book of Philippians:
“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6 (NIV))

Again, notice that Paul mentioned “in every situation”.

There are so many ways we can have conversations with God in the course of the day. Some examples:

1. Have a conversation with God when you’re driving. (It’s “hands-free” communication, so we’re safe! :))

2. When you’re about to begin a daunting task, ask God to lead the way and remove any obstacles for you.

3. Most of my family lives overseas. There are times it is not easy to reach them and talk to them due to the time difference. Instead of worrying myself to the point of becoming sick, I pray for them. You can do that for your friends, relatives and family too. No matter where they are located, God is not hindered by any geographical boundaries.

4. While you’re in the gym, or having a walk in your neighbourhood, try praying for the people around you. You may not know them, but I believe that we can touch any lives by prayer.

5. When you’re doing certain dreaded tasks such as cleaning your home, or mowing the lawn, pray to God. Ask for strength to get you through your task!

6. I was once on a plane that had just taken off from the airport tarmac and was departing the country that I had travelled to. It was a spectacular bird’s eye view from the clouds. I prayed for that country from the plane.

7. If you have a big decision to make, example buying a house, moving to another country, changing your job etc, prayerfully make your decision rather than “jump” into the new venture.

For me, the best part about praying is having and enjoying a fellowship with God, our Creator. He is not inaccessible. “The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” (Psalm 145:18 (NIV))

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16 (NIV))

Leave a Reply

