Sword of the Spirit

It has been a long time since I have committed a long list of Bible verses to my memory.

From time to time, I try to memorize verses, but somehow usually end up relying on my Bible for the exact words. How convenient would it be if the verses were always in my mind and I could “retrieve” them whenever and wherever I wanted?

Years ago, the Church that I attended back then held a Bible verses competition. Together with a few of my friends, I was shortlisted and our team made it to the finals.

It was by no means an easy feat to be shortlisted to the finals. For weeks, I would diligently memorize the list of Bible verses that we were given for the preliminaries. My preparation involved sticking the list on my bedroom wall, and even walking in the streets after work memorizing and meditating on the Word.

My team was placed third in the finals. It would have been nice to come in first, but nevertheless, I was pleased with the results and my efforts. I came back home with a wealth of Scripture verses in my head and to this day, these verses have been helping me in my life’s journey by strengthening my faith and helping me understand the nature and goodness of God. They have made me aware of the power of “…the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God” (Ephesians 6:17 (NIV)).

I guess the time has come for me to commit more Bible verses to my memory — word for word. How about you? Do you have any favourite Bible verses that you memorize from time to time?

(Daily prompt: Memorize)

Leave a Reply

